For Immediate Release



Media Contact: Pat Walsh, LTD CMO Email: Pat.Walsh@LTD.org Phone: 541-513-1236

Lane Transit District

New Board Members Begin Terms In January

EUGENE, Ore. ---(December 30, 2022)--- Oregon Governor Kate Brown has appointed three new members to the Lane Transit District (LTD) Board of Directors to serve four-year terms beginning on January 1, 2023.

Heather Murphy is an Early Learning Administrator with the South Lane School District who represents Subdistrict 3: Southeast Eugene, Creswell, Cottage Grove, and Lowell areas. A former Cottage Grove City Councilor, Murphy has a deep understanding of the multitude of challenges and opportunities needed for families and children to be healthy and successful. She previously served as the Executive Director of CASA of Lane County and the Family Relief Nursery in Cottage Grove as well as the Yoncalla Early Works Site Liaison/Rural Policy Advisor for the Children's Institute. She is a graduate of the University of Oregon. Murphy replaces Don Nordin, who had served the maximum of two consecutive four-year terms on the LTD Board of Directors.

Kelly Sutherland is the Executive Director for The Relief Nursery. Active in the community, she has lived in Eugene for nearly 25 years. Prior to moving to the area, she was a Producer for Dateline NBC. She was originally appointed by Governor Brown in Fall 2022 to complete the last months of the term vacated by Emily Secord, who stepped down in July to spend more time with her family. Sutherland will continue to serve Subdistrict 4: North Eugene (east of River Road) and the Coburg areas. She earned Bachelor's and Master's Degrees in Journalism from New York University.

Lawrence Green will represent residents of Subdistrict 6: West Eugene/ Highway 99, River Road, and Junction City. A long-time PeaceHealth employee, Green is an Administrative Office Representative responsible for scheduling/timekeeping for nurses at Sacred Heart Medical Center at River Bend. Green is a dedicated father who invests his free time in our area's youth as a coach and mentor through Emerald Kidsports and the YMCA. He is a graduate of the University of Oregon. He replaces Caitlin Vargas who chose not to reapply for a second term.

###

About Lane Transit District (LTD)

Lane Transit District (LTD) is a special district of the State of Oregon led by a seven-member volunteer board of directors appointed by Oregon's governor. LTD's budget is funded through a combination of fares, taxes paid by local employers and employees, and from state and federal sources. LTD lives its mission to connect our community by delivering more than 5 million annual passenger boardings from 30 fixed bus routes and two EmX Bus Rapid Transit lines. LTD's paratransit service, RideSource, provides more than 250,000 trips annually for people with disabilities and Medicaid recipients. More information about LTD is at <u>www.LTD.org</u>.